CAN LOVE REVEAL ULTIMATE REALITY? A Guided Meditation. Talk. Q and A. 20.00-21.30 (CET) Sunday 19 December 2021

Do join the teaching on Love and Ultimate Reality. Sangha Live hosts the event.

Title: CAN LOVE REVEAL ULTIMATE REALITY?

Date. 7pm GMT (UK) / 8pm CET (Central Europe Time), 11am PT (L.A.) / 2pm ET (N.Y.) Sunday 19 December 2021.

Link: https://sangha.live/live/

Speaker: Christopher

Theme: We know the cost experiencing the reality of life through the deprivation of love.

Human beings and other sentient creature suffer through withdrawal of love, abuse and violence. What is the contribution of love to knowing ultimate reality?

Science has eliminated love and such depths from its analysis of reality.

Science perceives reality through the limited constructs of the mind revealing its limits through reliance on conceptual interpretations of reality. You will rarely find the word love in scientific textbooks.

We can appreciate the benefits of science when supported with ethics and wisdom.

The Buddha made frequent reference to metta with its three-fold meaning of love, kindness and friendship according to context. He made a powerful statement – Metta is a Brahma Vihara (literally Abiding/Dwelling  with/in God).  This means an exceptional depth of love transcending conventions. This talk gives emphasis to the employment of the whole being to know and see reality rather than a mind-only approach.

The talk excludes theory and metaphysics.

This talk will speak of the importance of deep love, of abiding with God, and why such love has the power to contribute to awakening to the ultimate reality.

The evening programme will consist of a 30-minute guided meditation on the theme. 30-minute talk on the theme and closing with a Q and A session either in the Chat column of Zoom or spoken.

Britain’s senior Dharma teacher, Christopher Titmuss has been teaching worldwide for 45 years.  His teachings embrace insight meditation (vipassana), expansion of the heart and a liberating wisdom. A former Buddhist monk in Thailand and India, poet social critic and blogger, he is the author of more than 20 books. He lives in Totnes, Devon, England. www.christophertitmuss.net




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.